Venison Roast

A few days ago my husband’s uncle shot a deer and gave it to us. We skinned it and quartered it. Some of the meat I ground up and the rest I made into roasts. This is one of the roasts. If you have such a cut of meat or any large muscle that is roast material, take it out of the fridge and salt it liberally about an hour before you’re ready to roast it. The salt does two things, it first draws liquid up out of the meat, that liquid melts the salt and then the meat reabsorbs the salty liquid and it flavors and tenderizes the meat. The trick to this is to salt the meat and let it rest, at room temperature, for an entire hour until the salt is completely dissolved. You can read more about this technique here.

Please note that all my pictures are taken with a cell phone and it’s not a smart phone, so the resolution is a bit crappy (sorry).

This is a ham. I've separated the leg at the joint. It's been liberally sprinkled with salt and has been sitting for about 20 minutes.

Next, I sliced up a bunch of onions and some carrots and went and snipped some rosemary from the garden and put all this into my roasting pan.

Veggies in the roasting pan.

Once my roast was done resting, I put it in the roasting pan on top of the veggies and then laid some rosemary on top.

Roast in the pan with rosemary

The I covered the entire roast with bacon. Laying first one way and then the other to make sure that it stayed on during cooking.

Because venison is so lean, the bacon adds fat to keep the meat moist and imparts a nice smokey flavor.

The into the oven it went! For about 3 hours at 300*F. You want to reach an internal temperature of about 140. Once you reach that temperature, take it out, tent it with foil and just leave it alone for about an hour. The temperature will continue to rise to about 160-165 and you will end up with a medium rare cut of meat that is perfectly juicy.

Now we had already started digging in before I remembered I was supposed to take pictures of the roast when it came out of the oven.

I had already removed the bacon and cut several slices. I serve the bacon alongside the meat.

Some slices and the bacon

So that’s my roast deer! The flavor was absolutely wonderful with rosemary undertones. The meat was tender and juicy and just that perfect medium rare.

Hope one day you can get your own and try it!

Enjoy!

 

4 Comments

Filed under Game, In the Kitchen, Using Wild Things

4 responses to “Venison Roast

  1. Bev

    Oh WOW!!
    will remember this recipe for next Hunting season!!!
    Good Job!
    TheMrsVolfie

  2. Thank you!! It turned out really well for my first time and no recipe lol

  3. Mom

    THIS IS THE BEST VENISON I EVER HAD. I DON’T USUALLY CARE FOR VENISON OR GAME MEAT, BUT THIS WAS ABSOLUTELY TENDER AND FLAVORFUL WITH NO STRINGY MEAT OR STRONG GAMEY TASTE! GREAT JOB!

Leave a Reply

