Persimmon Cookies

Still without a camera, but still doing stuff and making things. I found some wild persimmon trees while walking one day, so I went home got a bucket and walked back and got all I could reach (which wasn’t much). After washing and pressing through a sieve I had just under a cup of persimmon purée. I’ve never worked with persimmons before, so I didn’t really know what to do with the purée…I’ve eaten plenty of persimmon pudding in my time, but I wanted something different. So I thought about cookies. I do a lot of baking kind of on a whim and “invent” recipes…So I creamed some butter and sugar and an egg and added the purée and then added flour with some nutmeg, cinnamon and cloves. The resulting dough was a very sticky, like a really thick batter. But I greased my cookie sheet and dropped the dough by sticky  teaspoonful onto it.  They pretty much kept their shaped throughout cooking and had a very airy texture. As soon as they came out of the oven I rolled them in powdered sugar and then set them on the cooling rack. I tasted one fresh and it was divine! Prominent persimmon flavor with the earthy spiciness of the cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves. Once cool the cookies remained soft and chewy and wonderful. My husband ate at least a dozen before I took them away from him. I immediately knew I had to try to remember what I had done and write it down for future batches. So here, as best I can remember, is my recipe for Persimmon Cookies:

1 scant cup Persimmon Puree

1 1/2 cups Brown Sugar

1/2 cup Lard (Butter is perfectly fine too, I just didn’t have any at the time)

2 tablespoons Milk

1 Egg

2 cups flour (I used self-rising because that’s what I had – add 1 tsp baking powder if using regular flour)

1/2 tsp Salt

1/2 tsp Cinnamon

1/2 tsp Nutmeg (I grate mine fresh and didn’t really measure but it looked like about 1/2 tsp)

1/4 tsp Cloves

A couple handfuls of Chopped Pecans

Powdered Sugar (for rolling)

Greasing the cookie sheet is a fairly important step…I lightly greased mine each time and didn’t have any stick so I couldn’t get them off, but because they’re so very soft when they come out of the oven, they’re easy to get up with the spatula. Roll them in the powdered sugar while they’re still hot. I baked mine at 350 degrees for 12 minutes.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under In the Kitchen, Using Wild Things

Leave a Reply

