Last of the Summer Harvest

The last of the summer harvest, some yellow tomatoes, okra and some little jalapeño peppers.

The baby cabbages and collards are already growing bigger, sprouting new leaves and loving their hand tilled home. I hope to get the broccoli, cauliflower, turnips and chard in soon. If all goes well, we should have a nice crop of vegetables to help us through the winter.

In July, I planted sweet potatoes in two large pots and in a clean plastic trashcan. In the pots, they’re in potting soil, but in the trash can I put about 10 inches of potting soil and planted the potatoes. As they grew, I added pine shavings to cover them up. I’d let them grow about 8 inches before I covered them up. I stopped adding shavings about a foot from the top of the can. The theory is by continually adding shavings (or soil or sawdust) the vines will send out more roots and you will get more potatoes. They will be ready to harvest by the end of the month and I can’t wait to see what grew!

Veggies in a basket

 

 

 

One little red pepper

Sweet potatoes in the trashcan

As the vines grew, I added more shavings until the shavings were about 8 inches below the rim of the can, then I just let the vines grow.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under DIY, Garden

Leave a Reply

